Mar 1, 2017


South Africans now have the opportunity to determine the very best of the best boerewors by buying, trying and voting for their favourite Championship Boerewors recipe of the past 10 years.

Judges from the SA Chef’s Association namely Thuli Gogela, Martin Kobald, Jenny Morris and Carmen Niehaus selected their top three Championship Boerewors recipes from the past 10 years during a rigorous judging and tasting process. Now it is now up to the public to have the last say by voting for the best of the best.   

Martin Kobald, Thuli Gogela, Carmen Niehaus and Jenny Morris with their top three Championship Boerewors recipes from the past 10 years.

The Championship Boerewors recipes of Jaco Labuschagne - the youngest ever winner of this competition - from Boksburg, Gauteng (2010), Jasper Johannes Gordon from Strand, Western Cape (2011) and Koos van Dyk from Polokwane, Limpopo (2014) will compete for the prestigious title of the ultimate boerewors champion of the past 10 years.

The top three favourites as selected by the judges will be available as a limited edition 3-in-1 pack in all Shoprite, Checkers and Checkers Hyper stores throughout South Africa from 1 March until 12 April 2017. Consumers are encouraged to buy, braai, try and vote for their favourite recipe by following the on-pack instructions. In doing so, they stand a chance to win their share of R50 000 in shopping vouchers!

Once the votes have been audited, SA’s ultimate No.1 Championship Boerewors will be for sale from 1 May 2017. 

View the competition terms and conditions here.   

Latest Articles