Sep 15, 2016


South Africa’s 2016 Championship Boerewors winner was crowned on Robben Island today (Thursday, 15 September 2016).  The Boerewors recipe of Olivier Kritzinger (63) from Joubertina in the Eastern Cape was revealed as #SAsNo1 following an exciting charity rugby match between players from the SA Rugby Sevens team and well-known media personalities.

Shoprite and Checkers are proud of SA’s boerewors tradition and celebrate it every year by hosting the Championship Boerewors competition.

The supermarket group has become the number one destination for South Africans looking for the country’s best Boerewors, having sold the equivalent of 8,459 km of Championship Boerewors during the Group’s previous financial year which ended on 30 June 2016. This equates to 56.4 million Boerewors rolls, using a standard 15cm piece of Boerewors.

Four of South Africa’s Rio 2016 Sevens Rugby bronze medalists - Seabelo Senatla, Roscko Speckman, Justin Geduld and Dylan Sage - played a friendly touch rugby game in aid of charity against well-known personalities such as television presenter Siv Ngesi and comedian Jason Goliath.

It was the first time a national sports team played a match on Robben Island.

SA Sevens winger Roscko Speckman kicked a special golden rugby ball over the posts as a banner dropped to reveal Kritzinger’s name.

“I have a great passion for boerewors. It is a part of our heritage – boerewors was first made in South Africa, so it gives me great pleasure to be able to make a positive contribution to this age-old tradition,” said a very proud Kritzinger. Along with bragging rights as SA’s No.1 Boerewors Champion, he also won the grand prize of a brand new Toyota Hilux Double Cab 2.8 GD-6 Raised Body Raider.

The other two Championship Boerewors finalists were Vukile Vincent Cele from Durban and Winter Reaobaka Letlhogile from Kimberley. All three finalists received gift hampers from sponsors Coca Cola, All Gold and Simba, as well as vouchers from Shoprite and Checkers stores.

Kritzinger’s recipe will be on sale in all Shoprite, Checkers and Checkers Hyper stores nationwide from Friday, 16 September 2016 – just in time for Heritage Day!

Read more on the Championship Boerewors website.

Olivier Kritzinger (63) from Joubertina in the Eastern Cape has #SAsNo1 Championship Boerewors recipe.  He is congratulated by Derek Hawk, The Wors Whisperer.
Adnaan Mohamed, Jason Goliath, Siv Angelo, Vincent Cele (2016 Championship Boerewors Finalist), Olivier Kritzinger (2016 Championship Boerewors Winner), Winter Letlhogile (2016 Championship Boerewors finalist), Roscko Speckman (SA Rugby Sevens player), Justin Geduld (SA Rugby Sevens player), Willie Peters (Shoprite), Carl Wastie, and the DHL Stormers Cheerleaders.
The Championship Boerewors media team and the SA Rubgy Sevens team in action.

Latest Articles