Dec 2, 2014


More than half a million rand was raised at the Shoprite Group of Companies’ annual Supplier Awards function held in Stellenbosch on 29 November 2014 when the ceremony’s décor elements were auctioned off. 

The R525 150 raised will be donated to FoodBank SA to extend the retailer’s existing festive season #Shareforgood campaign in which 10 000 food buckets are being delivered to communities living on the bread line. Thanks to the open hearts and wallets of Shoprite suppliers, an additional 5000 families will receive a food parcel for Christmas this year. 

In Shoprite’s #Shareforgood campaign FoodBank SA and 40 influential South Africans are working together to distribute the 10 000 food buckets to charities and communities they support.  FoodBank SA redistributes food in communities with high food insecurity and they have a national footprint of over 1500 beneficiary organisations. 

The Shoprite Group Supplier Awards is held annually to recognise suppliers for their unstinting support and collaborative approach toward the company’s business during the year. 

Suppliers nominated for this prestigious accolade are evaluated on criteria such as the extent to which they had contributed towards the supermarket group’s growth and improved earnings, their stockholding and service levels, the efficiency of their administration processes, and the manner in which they provide support at store or head office level.

The suppliers who were honoured in their respective categories this year are:

Confectionery and Beverages: Aletta van der Merwe, Simba
Contractors / Service Providers: Erika Viljoen, EC Viljoen Liquor Licence Consultants
Perishables and Service Departments: Ewerd Ras, Afgri Poultry
Fruit and Vegetables: Rossouw Cillié, Laastedrif Boerdery
Ambient Groceries: Carl Otte, National Brands Ltd – Entyce Beverages
Toiletries: Genasha Naidoo, Unilever South Africa (Pty) Ltd
Non-Foods: Mike Schickerling, BIC South Africa
Furniture:  LTH
Housebrand / Private Labels: Jonathan Kelsey, Joekels Tea Packers (Pty) Ltd
Upcoming Suppliers: Lara Lauts, Toucan Bake Bakery
Liquor: Hannes Basson, Pernod Richard South Africa (Pty) Ltd
Meat Markets: Robin Haller, Deli Spices

The spice manufacturer Freddy Hirsch was presented with the CEO’s Award in recognition of his exceptional contribution towards the Shoprite Group and its business in South Africa.  Mr Hirsch arrived in South Africa in November 1936 as a 7-year-old refugee from Germany.  He established his business in 1956 and worked hard to grow it over five decades to become the biggest food ingredient manufacturer on the African continent. 

Pictured here from left to right, in the back row are Carl Otte (National Brands Ltd – Entyce Beverages), Robin Haller (Deli Spices), Rossouw Cillié (Laastedrif Boerdery), Ewerd Ras (Afgri Poultry), Hannes Basson (Pernod Richard South Africa (Pty) Ltd), and Lawrence Licth (LTH).  
Front row (fltr):  Jonathan Kelsey (Joekels Tea Packers (Pty) Ltd), Genasha Naidoo (Unilever South Africa (Pty) Ltd), Erika Viljoen (EC Viljoen Liquor Licence Consultants), Aletta van der Merwe (Simba), Lara Lauts (Toucan Bake Bakery), and Mike Schickerling, (BIC South Africa).
Mr Freddy Hirsch received the CEO’s award from Mr Whitey Basson at the Shoprite Group’s annual Supplier Awards ceremony.

Latest Articles