Dec 4, 2013


The Shoprite Group of Companies paid tribute to its suppliers at the 2013 Big Brand Supplier Awards held in Stellenbosch on Saturday, 30 November. This glamorous ceremony, held annually, provides an opportunity for the group to recognise suppliers for their unstinting support and collaborative approach toward the company’s business during the past year.

Suppliers who are nominated for this prestigious accolade are evaluated on criteria such as the extent to which they had contributed towards the supermarket group’s growth and improved earnings, their stockholding and service levels, the efficiency of their administration processes, and the manner in which they provide support at store level i.e. the frequency of merchandiser visits to the stores. The criteria also vary according to the requirements and demands of the different award categories. 

The suppliers who were honoured in their respective categories this year are:

Confectionery and Beverages: Andrew McCabe, Tiger Brands Snacks, Treats and Beverages
Contractors/ Service Providers: Christoff Botha, Paarl Media
Perishables and Service Departments: Juanita van der Walt, Lancewood Holdings (Pty) Ltd
Fruit and Vegetables: Stuart Butcher, Tomahawk Farming Operations (Pty) Ltd
Ambient Groceries: Grant Bruwer, Bokomo Foods
Toiletries: Jaryd Otto, Procter & Gamble SA Trading (Pty) Ltd
Non-Foods: Charles Bruwer, Shield Chemicals (Pty) Ltd
Furniture: Restonic (Pty) Ltd
Housebrand / Private Labels: Shamir Essa, Frimax Foods
Upcoming Suppliers: Vijay Loosen, Sir Juice
Liquor: Marc de Fleuriot, Vinimark Trading (Pty) Ltd
Meat Markets: Wessel van Wyk, UMT Traders
Best Overseas Supplier of the Year:  Kenny Cheng (Kedah Company)

Pictured here from left to right, in the back row are Christoff Botha (Paarl Media), Charles Bruwer (Shield Chemicals (Pty) Ltd), Marc de Fleuriot (Vinimark Trading (Pty) Ltd), Wessel van Wyk (UMT Traders), Stuart Butcher (Tomahawk Farming Operations (Pty) Ltd), and Andrew McCabe (Tiger Brands Snacks, Treats and Beverages).  Front row (fltr):  Grant Bruwer (Bokomo Foods), Michael Metz (Restonic (Pty) Ltd), Vijay Loosen (Sir Juice), Kenny Cheng (Kedah Company), Juanita van der Walt (Lancewood Holdings (Pty) Ltd), Jaryd Otto (Procter & Gamble SA Trading (Pty) Ltd), and Shamir Essa (Frimax Foods)

Latest Articles