Jul 21, 2012


The 2012 title winners of the Shoprite Checkers Women of the Year Award were announced on Saturday, 21 July 2012 in Johannesburg.

They are Ms Shéri Brynard who received the Youth Mover Award; Ms Nyeleti Mushwana the Socio-Economic Business Developers Award, Ms Margi Biggs the Good Neighbours Against Crime Award, Ms Tina Botha the Health Care-Givers Award and Ms Marisa van der Merwe received the Award in the Educators Category.

From left to right: Marisa van der Merwe, Sheri Brynard, Margi Biggs, Nyeleti Mushwana, Brian Weyers (Director of the Shoprite Group) and Tina Botha.

Archbishop Desmond Tutu was honoured with the 2012 Shoprite Checkers Women of the Year Lifetime Achievement Award after the public nominated him this year as the esteemed South African who during his lifetime has inspired generations and has had an impact on the future of many fellow South Africans during his lifetime.

Latest Articles