Sep 21, 2012


Eighty-five of the country’s best boerewors-makers battled it out on 15 September in the provincial rounds of this year’s Shoprite Checkers Championship Boerewors competition. And now finally, after a period of 4 months during which more than 1000 boereworsmakers went through 2 elimination rounds, and 400 judges tasted more than 55 000 pieces of boerewors, the day has come when the new Boerewors Champion will be chosen.

Ten provincial winners will be travelling to Sun City for the much anticipated grand finale that takes place in the Valley of Waves on 6 October where the winner will drive away with a brand new Toyota Hilux 2.7 Double Cab Raised Body Raider and the much sought after 2012 Boerewors crown!

The ten finalists for the Sun City Grand Finale are:

  • Eastern Cape – Aletta Rachman, from St Francis Bay.
  • Free State – Wiekus Vorster, from Bloemfontein.
  • Gauteng – Quinton Rossouw, from Kempton Park.
  • Gauteng – Chantelle Gouws, from Vanderbijlpark.
  • KwaZulu-Natal – Piet Nkambule, from Newcastle.
  • Limpopo – Koos van Dyk, from Polokwane.
  • Mpumalanga – Mary Mkhabela, from Mashishing.
  • North West – Michael Webster, from Klerksdorp.
  • Northern Cape – Gielie van Zyl, from Kimberley.
  • Western Cape – Cathrine Groeners, from Kranshoek in Plettenberg Bay.

Top food experts Martin Kobald (award winning chef and Honorary Past President of the SA Chefs Association), Carmen Niehaus (YOU and Huisgenoot Food Editor, and author of more than 20 cookbooks), Jenny Morris (also known as “The Giggling Gourmet” and owner of a successful catering company); Arnold Tanzer (Sunday Times Chef of the Year 2008 and Director – African Continent and Middle East, World Association of Chef’s Societies), Peter Veldsman (author of several cookbooks and owner of Emily’s Restaurant in Cape Town), and Lungile Nhlanhla, Junior Food Editor at Drum Magazine and one of the Top 5 finalists of the 2012 Masterchef SA programme) – will act as official judges during the final at Sun City and make sure that only the best of the best is selected as the 2012 Championship Boerewors.

The 2012 Shoprite Checkers Championship Boerewors will receive the South African Chefs Association’s Seal of Approval, ensuring that South Africa’s best loved boerewors is the best of the very best!

Brümilda van Rensburg and Waldemar Schultz will be the compères for Championship Boerewors grand finale. Brümilda is a favourite of the South African public for her role as Louwna in the long-running M-Net soapie, Egoli and has appeared in several acclaimed theatre productions. Waldemar is a South African actor, director and voice artist best known for his role as Jan-Hendrik Terreblanche in the local SABC2 soap, 7de Laan. He is also known for his role as host of the 7de Laan programme Ken Jou Laan, which also aired on SABC2.

Brümilda and Waldemar will be joined on stage by some of South Africa’s top entertainers such as Sorina (“the Flooze”), Jessica Truter, Gerhard Sten, Willem Botha and Charlize Berg, with special appearances by Nataniël, Kurt Darren, Mandoza and Die Kaapse Affodille.

Shoprite and Checkers are proud of South Africa’s boerewors heritage and to celebrate this, the supermarket group annually hosts the Championship Boerewors Competition which searches for the country’s best traditional boerewors recipe. The group is renowned for the excellent quality of the meat available at their Meat Markets and they are continuously looking for new recipes and ideas in order to offer customers the best. The annual Boerewors Championship is instrumental in achieving that goal.

Those who will not have the opportunity to taste the supermarket group’s new Championship Boerewors at Sun City will fortunately not have to wait too long to obtain it. From 12 October this product will be available under the 2012 Championship Boerewors label in the Meat Markets at Shoprite, Checkers and Checkers Hyper stores country-wide.

For more information on winners, prizes and competition events visit the Championship Boerewors web site:

Latest Articles