Mar 2, 2011


The Shoprite Group on 1 March 2011 announced the start of this year’s nationwide search for the most outstanding women in South Africa to be honoured with the Shoprite Checkers Women of the Year Award. 


In announcing the 2011 Award Brian Weyers, Director of the Shoprite Group, said that the main aim of the Award remains to identify exceptional and visionary women who have achieved in their own fields with the determination and foresight to make an impact on the future of many fellow South Africans. 

All South Africans are invited to participate by nominating those women with a vision on the future and who makes our nation proud in five categories, namely: Health Care-Givers; Educators; Socio-Economic Business Developers; Good Neighbours Against Crime and Youth Movers. 

“Through this Award we want to focus the attention of the people of our country on finding solutions for those critical matters affecting our future. The winners will be awarded with individual prize money but we will also give R100 000 towards the work they do for a better future”, Weyers said. 

Furthermore the Shoprite Checkers Women of the Year Award will honour an esteemed South African whom during her or his lifetime has inspired generations.

The public will be asked to nominate the Lifetime Achiever who will receive R100 000 to donate to a cause which the recipient believes will better the lives of South Africans. 

The closing date for nominations is Friday, 29 April 2011 and South Africans who would like to nominate candidates can simply visit their nearest Shoprite or Checkers store to collect entry forms. Information on the Award will also be published in Huisgenoot, You and Drum from the beginning of March until the winners are announced. 

Those with access to the internet can nominate online on the Award’s official website. They can also make contact with the Award organisers by e-mail on or 021 980 4285 or 021 980 1570. 

After the nationwide search campaign, the Award culminates in a spectacular gala evening in July 2011 at Emperors Palace in Gauteng to announce the winners. This dazzling event will be broadcast during prime time on Monday, 8 August 2011 on M-Net. The programme will be re-broadcast on Women’s Day, 09 August 2011. 

Latest Articles