Dec 11, 2007


The Shoprite Group of Companies paid tribute to their suppliers at a glamorous annual awards ceremony held in Stellenbosch on Saturday, 1 December 2007.  

An initiative embarked upon by the Shoprite Group of Companies eight years ago in recognition of the vital role that its suppliers play in the retailer’s efforts to continually grow its business and increase service levels to its customers, the 2007 Shoprite Big Brands Supplier of the Year Awards has grown into a credible accolade that is accepted with pride. 

Not only does it honour suppliers and service providers to the Group who have made a contribution to Shoprite’s business in terms of financial measurements, but it also serves as an internal benchmark for the Group to uphold a consistent service level to the South African consumer.

The following suppliers were honoured in their respective categories.

Back (from left to right):  Johan Janse van Rensburg (Cadbury), Wessel van Wyk (LAW Meat), Thomas Dry (Earlybird Farm), Dries Wiese (Try-Me International), David Monaco (Adcock Ingram), Murry Crown (Whirlpool), Alan Makinson (Tiger Brands Culinary)

Front (from left to right): Larissa Demetriou (Giants Canning), Wally Blumberg (CTP Web Printers), Jacqueline Jacobs (Bliss Chemicals (Pty) Ltd), Neville Blignaut (Music for Pleasure (Pty) Ltd)

A new awards category saw CEO’s Paul Steinmann (Elcon Consultants), Darryl Fine (Salient) and Steve Barcley (Polarcap) receive acknowledgement for their many years of exceptional partnerships with the Shoprite Group. 

Latest Articles